McGee and Spenser vs. the Terrorists

No, the title of this post is not some fan-fiction daydream. An author named Bill Rayburn has published an e-book called Spenser and Travis McGee: The Trafalgar Square Bomber. My wife was browsing through the Kindle store a couple of days ago, looking at McGee titles, and came across it.

I’ve only read the sample section available on the Kindle store. The tale finds the two classic American tough guys bumping into each other in a London hotel near Trafalgar Square, presumably in the present day. Naturally they sense some commonalities, and end up sharing Guinnesses and something stronger in a nearby pub. Meyer, it seems, has recently died. And so too has Susan Silverman. (I’m saddened to hear about Meyer; Ms. Silverman not so much.)

Both men are in a morose mood; but they’re not done yet. All of a sudden the pub shakes with the percussions of powerful explosions (at nearby Charing Cross Station). Two suspicious men come running by, and the two fictional heroes–like two old hunting dogs–take up the chase.

Since we’ve been talking here lately about keeping fictional heroes alive after their creators’ demise, I thought you’d like to hear about Mr. Rayburn’s book. I was in touch with the author, who wrote me in an e-mail that he “sent out feelers to the two [authors’] families,” and no one yet has asked him to take down the book. 

You can look at the book and the sample right here.

I’ll let you all be the judge of whether or not Bill Rayburn pulls it off.

14 thoughts on “McGee and Spenser vs. the Terrorists

  1. Sounds like fan fiction to me. I think the least Mr. Rayburn could do is subscribe to Travis McGee and Me. 😉

    I’ve bought his book. I’ll write a report if no one beats me to it.

    If Mr. Rayburn can get away it, maybe a Meyer based book isn’t an impossibility.

    • Kevin…I agree re: subscribing to the hard-core Travis people.

      Let me know what you think about the book. And Meyer passed? That’s unbelievable from the start.

  2. While I like Spenser and all, I think he would be the one to “trip up” rather than Travis. But of course we all know how partial I am to Travis.

    And agree with you D.R. regarding Susan and Meyer…”Susan not so much.” Meyer I would cry a tear and Susan, not so much!

    I was so excited though to know where it happened since I was there, as in there, Trafalgar Square and Charing Cross Road just this past May. How exciting for me that I was actually there and have first hand knowledge of the place. Specifically visited Charing Cross Road because that’s where many of the bookstores are located.

    Did download sample so thank you (and the Mrs.) for the ‘heads up.’

    • I haven’t been to London in 30 years, and find myself yearning for a visit. “Charing Cross” just jogged my memory, too. As in 84 Charing Cross Road, a wonderful movie with Anne Bancroft and Anthony Hopkins about book lovers connecting across the Atlantic. If you’ve never seen it, Netflix the thing immediately!

  3. D.R. I read the book before I left. Haven’t seen the movie but the book was wonderful. I had so much fun on CC Road…just going from bookstore to bookstore and the side streets and their antique stores. I was in heaven.

  4. Meyer Passed! No way! Maybe a C.I.A. funeral to throw off some enemies. I can see Meyer sipping a McGee, on some bikini filled boat in the islands, when Travis calls for him to join him in, cold foggy, London.

    A Meyer based book would be great.

  5. OMG, if I wasn’t already spoken for by Travis, you would be my guy. Is it Plymouth or Boodles? Or both? Well, let’s chill with a Boodles on ice and the good company of Meyer (and Travis, of course) who’s living a long fruitful life. You snagged me with the Babe.

  6. Here is my brief report on “The Trafalgar Square Bomber”. Rather than discuss the book in detail, I’ll just highlight some important take-aways.

    1. The barriers to ePublishing are extraordinarily low.
    2. Mr. Rayburn fell well short of his commendable ambitions.
    3. Good writing combines a number of elements beyond grammar.
    4. Writers can benefit from editors.
    5. The estates of JDM & RBP need not be unduly concerned.

    I will add that Mr. Rayburn kills Hawk. However, the plot is so unlikely that Spencer could very well wake up to discover a paperback copy of “Free Fall in Crimson” clutched in his hand and Susan standing over him.

    Finally, a brief weather update: I no sooner complained about the drought and the heavens have opened. It has been raining steadily for a day and a half and it is a real gully washer. Unfortunately, we probably need the proverbial 40 days and nights.

  7. I read the book and was surprised to have enjoyed it so much. I had my doubts going in. I’ve read a few Spensers, but long ago and know him better from the TV series. McGee, I’ve read many times as well as many other JDMs. I didn’t like McGee’s “voice” and wasn’t used to the third person. But once I put that aside and just got into the story, I enjoyed it much more. I didn’t think the excessive drinking was necessary and too much time was spent on it. All that said, I found it a pleasurable read and might read it again in the future. It is, as it says on the cover, a homage, so don’t expect JDM and you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

